About Us

These events, this website and the research have been co-ordinated by Dr Nicole Thiara, Centre for Postcolonial Studies, Nottingham Trent University, UK, and Dr Judith Misrahi-Barak,  Research Centre EMMA, Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3, France.

Nicole Thiara, Principal Investigator on the AHRC-funded Research Network Series ‘Writing, Analysing, Translating Dalit Literature’, teaches postcolonial and contemporary literature at Nottingham Trent University. She published Salman Rushdie and Indian Historiography: Writing the Nation into Being (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009) and her most recent journal article is ‘Subaltern Experimental Writing: Dalit Literature in Dialogue with the World’, Ariel 47.1-2 (2016), pp. 253-80. Her current area of research is Dalit and diasporic South Asian literature. Nicole.Thiara@ntu.ac.uk

Judith Misrahi-Barak, Co-Investigator on the AHRC-funded Research Network Series ‘Writing, Analysing, Translating Dalit Literature’, is Associate Professor at Paul-Valéry University Montpellier, France. She currently teaches English and Postcolonial Literatures. She has published many articles on Caribbean and Indo-Caribbean writers and the Caribbean diaspora, as well as book chapters in edited collections. She is General Editor of the series PoCoPages (Coll. ‘Horizons anglophones’, Presses universitaires de la Méditerranée https://www.pulm.fr/index.php/collections/horizons-anglophones/pocopages.html). The latest volume is Re-imagining the Guyanas, co-edited with Lawrence Aje and Thomas Lacroix (2019).  She co-edited Dalit Literatures in India with Joshil K. Abraham (2016; 2nd edition with new Introduction 2018). https://www.routledge.com/products/9781138891944judith.misrahi-barak@univ-montp3.fr

The Network’s Advisory Board

for the funding period of the AHRC research network grant (2014-16):

Laura Brueck (Northwestern University, Chicago)

Toral Jatin Gajarawala (New York State University)

Aniket Jaaware (Pune University)

Sharan Kumar Limbale (Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University)

P. Sanal Mohan (Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam)

Pramod Nayar (University of Hyderabad)

Anupama Rao (Columbia University, New York)

K. Satyanarayana (EFL-U, Hyderabad)

John Zavos (University of Manchester).